BACKSTAGE: 

WELCOME BEHIND THE SCENES

 
 

THE CASE

WE ARE THE FIRST MANUFACTURER WORLDWIDE TO CAST CASE AND DIAL IN SOLID SILVER OR GOLD.

MODEL & CAST

IT ALL STARTS WITH THE ORIGINAL MODEL: IT IS MADE OF WAX AND SERVES AS THE BASIS FOR ALL OTHER CRUDES. WE THEN CAST THE MOST DISTINCTIVE PART OF YOUR CRUDE IN STERLING SILVER – WITH THE CASE AND DIAL MADE IN ONE PIECE. WONDERING WHY WE CHOSE THE CAST PROCEDURE? OF COURSE, IT WOULD BE MUCH EASIER TO JUST MILL THE CASE OUT OF A SILVER BLOCK. BUT THEN AGAIN: WE LIKE CHALLENGES – AND WE LOVE INDIVIDUALITY. ISN’T IT ALL ABOUT THE LITTLE DIFFERENCES THAT SHAPE THE CHARACTER? WE KEEP THE CASTING AS RAW AS POSSIBLE. EVEN THE CAST SKIN REMAINS UNTOUCHED. AS A CONSEQUENCE, NO TWO OF OUR CASES WILL BE THE SAME. THERE ARE TINY DIFFERENCES AND IT’S FUN TO DISCOVER THE MICRO NOTCHES AND EDGES THAT MAKE EACH CRUDE UNIQUE – AND MAKE IT EXACTLY YOUR CRUDE. IN ADDITION, THE CASTING PROCESS CREATES SMOOTH TRANSITIONS AND A VERY SPECIAL, VERY SOFT TOUCH. FOR US, THE CASTING OF A CRUDE IS THE MOMENT OF ITS BIRTH: IT’S THE CREATION OF SOMETHING UNIQUE THAT MAY ONE DAY BE YOUR BABY. AS IT’S ABSOLUTELY UNUSUAL TO CREATE A MONOLITHIC CASE, WE HAD TO LOOK HARD FOR A SUITABLE PARTNER FOR THIS COMPLEX PROCESS. WE FOUND A HIGHLY SPECIALIZED FOUNDRY BASED IN IDAR-OBERSTEIN (GERMANY). EVEN FOR THEM, THE CRUDE HOUSING WAS A REAL CHALLENGE – BUT THEN AGAIN: EASY WOULD BE BORING AS HELL, RIGHT? .

 

PRECISION

TRIMMING THE ROUGH CAST CASE TO ABSOLUTE PERFECTION IS EVEN MORE DEMANDING THAN THE CASTING ITSELF. AFTER ALL, WE ARE NOT DEALING WITH JUST ANY KIND OF JEWEL BUT WITH A HIGH-END WATCH.  IT TOOK US TWO YEARS TO EXACTLY DEVELOP THE PROCESSES AND WORK STEPS THAT LEAD TO A PERFECT CASE – AND THE PATIENCE WAS DEFINITELY WORTH IT! SPECIAL TOOLS WERE CUSTOMIZED FOR CRUDE, AND COUNTLESS TESTS, A LOT OF TECHNICAL KNOW-HOW AND A LOT OF LATERAL THINKING WERE NECESSARY TO GET THERE. NOW OUR CASE BUILDER IS IN PERFECT CONTROL OF ALL TOLERANCES. HE IS ABLE TO EQUALIZE THE MOST MINIMUM UNEVENNESS IN THE CAST BLANK THAT MIGHT BE RELEVANT FOR PRECISION. THOUGH YOU WOULDN’T THINK SO WHEN LOOKING AT A CRUDE AND ITS ROUGH OUTER SHELL: EVERY HUNDRETH OF A MILLIMETER COUNTS.

THE CALIBER

GRAND HEART

 

A 44 MM DIAMETER CASE NEEDS A STATELY AUTOMATIC CALIBER. THE HEART OF EACH CRUDE IS THE CALIBER 3945A WITH A 30 MM DIAMETER MADE BY THE TRADITIONAL SWISS COMPANY ETERNA MOVEMENT. THE MOVEMENT CONTAINS 30 JEWELS AND IT VIBRATES STEADILY WITH A FREQUENCY OF 28,800 BEATS PER HOUR – WITH ONLY ONE GOAL: TO MOST PRECISELY SHOW YOU HOUR, MINUTE, SECOND AND DATE – AND HAS A POWER RESERVE OF 65 HOURS. THE GLASS FLOOR GIVES YOU A CLEAR VIEW OF THE BRIDGES’ FINISH WITH GENEVA STRIPES AND NAC COATING. THEN THERE’S ANOTHER DETAIL THAT YOU WON’T SEE: THE SAME CRUDE SERIAL NUMBER TO BE FOUND ON THE CASE IS ALSO ENGRAVED IN THE MOVEMENT.

 

THE SAPPHIRE CRYSTAL

SWISS STRENGTH

 

ONLY CRUDE OFFERS YOU A DIAL THAT IS ONE WITH THE SILVER CASE. SWISS EXCELLENCE ALLOWS YOU TO FULLY ENJOY THIS VERY SPECIAL FEATURE. OUR 2.2 MM THIN SAPPHIRE CRYSTAL IS MADE IN SWITZERLAND. AND THIS IS ALSO WHERE THE COATING PROCESS COMES FROM. ECONORM’S DOUBLE-SIDED ANTI-REFLECTIVE COATING IS PARTICULARLY HARD AND SO CLEAR THAT THE GLASS PRACTICALLY DISAPPEARS – YOU WILL VIRTUALLY BE ABLE TO DIVE INTO YOUR WATCH. THE BOTTOM GLASS COMES FROM THE SAME WORKSHOP: IT IS ALSO SAPPHIRE (1.8 MM) AND EQUIPPED WITH AN ANTI-REFLECTIVE COATING (INSIDE).

 

THE SCREWS

SEALED IN STYLE

 

CUSTOMIZED SCREWS, WHICH ARE EXCLUSIVELY MANUFACTURED AND COATED FOR CRUDE IN GERMANY, PROVIDE A STYLISH COHERENCE BETWEEN THE CASE AND THE BACK. USING SPECIAL TOOLS, THE SCREWS CAN BE LOOSENED TO OPEN THE BACK. HOWEVER, WE WOULDN'T BE CRUDE IF WE HAD ONLY PAID ATTENTION TO PERFECT FUNCTION AND NEGLECTED OUR TYPICAL STYLE. THAT'S WHY YOU'LL FIND OUR SIGNATURE »E« ON THE SCREW HEADS – WITHOUT THE MIDDLE LINE, OF COURSE.   

 

STRAP & BUCKLE

THE STRAP

CALF X KANGAROO

 

CRUDE IS NOT A LIGHTWEIGHT – LITERALLY. THAT'S WHY ITS STRAP IS MADE OF STRONG COWHIDE AND THE BRAIDING OF DURABLE KANGAROO LEATHER. OUR LEATHER SPECIALIST ON IBIZA MAKES EACH ONE ELABORATELY AND BY HAND. IF DESIRED, HE CAN EVEN ADAPT IT INDIVIDUALLY TO YOUR WRIST. ITS UNIQUE DESIGN GOES PERFECTLY WITH CRUDE’S OVERALL LOOK. BUT OF COURSE, WE DIDN'T JUST PAY ATTENTION TO STYLE AND DURABILITY: THE STRAP IS ALSO EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE TO WEAR – EVEN ON SLIMMER LADIES’ WRISTS. THINK OF IT AS SOME KIND OF STURDY BRACELET. BY THE WAY, THE STRAP IS SECURED IN AN APPROPRIATELY AESTHETIC AND RELIABLE WAY: THE BAND ATTACHMENTS MADE OF SOLID STERLING SILVER WERE CUSTOMIZED FOR CRUDE.

THE BUCKLE

CAST FOR CRUDE

 

THE STABLE BUCKLE GOES PERFECTLY WITH THE STRAP AND THE HOUSING: JUST AS THE CRUDE CASE, THE BUCKLE IS CAST IN SILVER.

 

THE HANDS

ELEGANT SKELETON

 

THE HANDS ARE SWISS-MADE, TOO. THEY’RE EXCLUSIVELY PRODUCED FOR CRUDE. ESTIMA IS OUR SUPPLIER FOR THE SKELETON HANDS.

 

THE OWNER’S MANUAL

THE BIRTH CERTIFICATE

 

AN ORDINARY SET OF ACCOMPANYING DOCUMENTS DOES NOT AT ALL LIVE UP TO OUR IDEA OF CRUDE. THAT’S WHY WE TREAT EACH WATCH WITH ITS VERY OWN LITTLE BOOK. IT’S A BIRTH CERTIFICATE THAT DOCUMENTS THE ORIGIN OF YOUR CRUDE, INCLUDING SERIAL NUMBER AND WATCHMAKER IN CHARGE. IT’S A CERTIFICATE THAT WILL ACCOMPANY THE TWO OF YOU FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. AMONG OTHER THINGS, THE BOOK WILL TEACH YOU HOW TO OPTIMALLY TREAT YOUR CRUDE AND GIVE IT AN INDIVIDUAL PATINA. MOREOVER YOU MAY USE IT TO DOCUMENT EVERY SERVICE OF YOUR WATCH – FOR A COMPLETE, LIFELONG HISTORY.

DIE CRUDE KOMPONENTEN

ALLE KOMPONENTEN STAMMEN AUS DEUTSCHER ODER SCHWEIZER HERSTELLUNG

DAS GEHÄUSE... 

ALS WELTWEIT ERSTER HERSTELLER GIEßEN WIR GEHÄUSE SAMT DEM ZIFFERBLATT MASSIV IN SILBER UND GOLD

MODEL & GUSS

AM ANFANG STEHT DAS URMODELL: ES WURDE AUS WACHS GEARBEITET UND DIENT ALS GRUNDLAGE FÜR ALLE WEITEREN CRUDES. AUS IHM GIEßEN WIR NUN DAS PRÄGNANTESTE TEIL DEINER CRUDE IN STERLING-SILBER – UND ZWAR AUS EINEM STÜCK SAMT ZIFFERBLATT. DU FRAGST DICH, WARUM WIR UNS FÜR GUSS ENTSCHIEDEN HABEN? KLAR WÄRE ES VIEL LEICHTER, DAS GEHÄUSE AUS EINEM SILBERBLOCK ZU FRÄSEN. DOCH WIR LIEBEN NICHT NUR DIE HERAUSFORDERUNG, SONDERN VOR ALLEM DIE INDIVIDUALITÄT. ALL DIE KLEINEN UNTERSCHIEDE, DIE DEN CHARAKTER FORMEN. WIR HALTEN DEN GUSS SO ROH WIE NUR MÖGLICH. SELBST DIE GUSSHAUT BLEIBT UNBERÜHRT. SO GLEICHT AM ENDE KEIN GEHÄUSE DEM ANDEREN: IN WINZIGEN DETAILS UNTERSCHEIDEN SICH DIE CRUDES VONEINANDER, UND ES MACHT SPAß, DIE KAUM SICHTBAREN KERBEN UND KANTEN ZU ENTDECKEN, DIE EINE CRUDE SO EINZIGARTIG MACHEN – GENAU ZU DEINER CRUDE EBEN.  AUßERDEM ENTSTEHEN IM GUSSVERFAHREN FLIEßENDE ÜBERGÄNGE UND EINE GANZ BESONDERE, SAMTWEICHE HAPTIK. FÜR UNS IST DAS GIEßEN EINER CRUDE DER MOMENT IHRER GEBURT – DENN DABEI ENTSTEHT EIN UNIKAT, DAS VIELLEICHT EINMAL DEIN BABY WIRD. WEIL ES DIE ABSOLUTE AUSNAHME IST, EIN SILBERGEHÄUSE AUS EINEM GUSS ZU FERTIGEN, MUSSTEN WIR LANGE NACH EINEM GEEIGNETEN PARTNER FÜR DIESEN KOMPLEXEN  PROZESS SUCHEN. FÜNDIG WURDEN WIR BEI EINER HOCHSPEZIALISIERTEN GIEßEREI MIT SITZ IN IDAR-OBERSTEIN (DEUTSCHLAND). SELBST FÜR DIESE GUSS-PROFIS WAR DAS CRUDE-GEHÄUSE EINE ECHTE HERAUSFORDERUNG – ALLES ANDERE WÄRE JA AUCH LANGWEILIG.

PRÄZISION

NOCH ANSPRUCHSVOLLER ALS DER GUSS SELBST IST ES, DAS GROBE GUSSGEHÄUSE AUF ABSOLUTE PERFEKTION ZU TRIMMEN. SCHLIEßLICH GEHT’S HIER NICHT UM IRGENDEIN SCHMUCKSTÜCK, SONDERN UM EINE UHR DER SPITZENKLASSE. ZWEI JAHRE HABEN WIR UNS GENOMMEN, UM GENAU DIE PROZESSE UND ARBEITSSCHRITTE ZU ENTWICKELN, DIE ZU EINEM PERFEKTEN GEHÄUSE FÜHREN – UND DIE GEDULD HAT SICH GELOHNT! SPEZIALWERKZEUGE WURDEN EIGENS FÜR CRUDE ANGEFERTIGT, UND ZAHLLOSE TESTS, JEDE MENGE TECHNISCHES KNOW-HOW UND EINE KRÄFTIGE PORTION QUERDENKEN WAREN NÖTIG, UM ANS ZIEL ZU KOMMEN. NUN HAT UNSER PFORZHEIMER GEHÄUSEBAUER ALLE TOLERANZEN PERFEKT IM GRIFF UND GLEICHT JEDE NOCH SO MINIMALE PRÄZISIONSRELEVANTE UNEBENHEIT AN DEN GUSSROHLINGEN MIT GRÖßTER SORGFALT AUS. DENN AUCH WENN MAN ES DER DERBEN CRUDE NICHT ANSIEHT: HIER GEHT’S UM HUNDERTSTEL MILLIMETER.

DAS KALIBER

STATTLICHES HERZ

EIN GEHÄUSE MIT 44 MM DURCHMESSER BRAUCHT EIN STATTLICHES AUTOMATIKKALIBER. DAS HERZ DER CRUDE IST DAS KALIBER 3945A VOM  SCHWEIZER TRADITIONSUNTERNEHMEN ETERNA MOVEMENT MIT EINEM DURCHMESSER VON 30 MM. 30 JUWELEN SIND DARIN VERBAUT, UND ES SCHWINGT UNBEIRRT MIT 28.800 HALBSCHWINGUNGEN IN DER STUNDE MIT NUR EINEM ZIEL: DIR MEHR ALS ORDENTLICH STUNDE, MINUTE, SEKUNDE UND DATUM ANZUZEIGEN – BEI EINER GANGRESERVE VON 65 STUNDEN. DER SICHTBODEN GEWÄHRT DIR FREIEN BLICK AUF DIE FINISSAGE DER BRÜCKEN MIT GENFER STREIFEN UND NAC-BESCHICHTUNG. NICHT ZU SEHEN, ABER TROTZDEM WAHR: INS WERK IST DIE GLEICHE CRUDE-SERIENNUMMER GRAVIERT WIE INS GEHÄUSE.

 
 
 
 

DIE SAPHIRGLÄSER

SCHWEIZER STÄRKE 

EIN ZIFFERBLATT, DAS EINS IST MIT DEM SILBERGEHÄUSE, FINDEST DU NUR BEI CRUDE. UND DAMIT DU DIESEN ANBLICK AUCH OPTIMAL AUSKOSTEN KANNST, SETZEN WIR AUF SCHWEIZER EXZELLENZ: DORT LASSEN WIR DAS  2,2 MM STARKE SAPHIRGLAS FERTIGEN. UND VON DORT STAMMT AUCH DAS BESCHICHTUNGSVERFAHREN, DAS UNSER ZIFFERBLATT UNVERFÄLSCHT ZUR GELTUNG BRINGT. DIE DOPPELSEITIGE ANTIREFLEXBESCHICHUNG AUS DEM HAUSE ECONORM IST BESONDERS HART UND SO KLAR, DASS DAS GLAS PRAKTISCH VERSCHWINDET. AUS DERSELBEN SCHMIEDE KOMMT DAS BODENGLAS DER CRUDE: EBENFALLS SAPHIR (1,8 MM), EBENFALLS  ANTIREFLEXBESCHICHTET (INNEN).

 

DIE SCHRAUBEN

PERFEKT VERSCHLOSSEN

FÜR STILECHTEN ZUSAMMENHALT ZWISCHEN GEHÄUSE UND BODEN SORGEN SPEZIALSCHRAUBEN, DIE WIR EIGENS FÜR CRUDE IN DEUTSCHLAND FERTIGEN UND BESCHICHTEN LASSEN. MITTELS SPEZIALWERKZEUG LASSEN SICH DIE GUTEN TEILE LÖSEN UND DER BODEN ÖFFNEN. WIR WÄREN NICHT CRUDE, WENN WIR BEI DEN SCHRAUBEN NUR AUF PERFEKTE FUNKTION GEACHTET UND DEN TYPISCHEN CRUDE-STYLE VERNACHLÄSSIGT HÄTTEN. DESHALB FINDEST DU IN DEN SCHRAUBENKÖPFEN UNSER MARKENTYPISCHES E – NATÜRLICH OHNE MITTELSTRICH.

 

BAND & SCHLIEßE

DAS BAND

EINE CRUDE IST NICHT OHNE – DAS GILT AUCH FÜRS GEWICHT. DESHALB BESTEHT IHR BAND AUS KRÄFTIGEM RINDS- UND DIE FLECHTUNG AUS STRAPAZIERFÄHIGEM  KÄNGURU-LEDER. JEDES EINZELNE STELLT UNSER LEDERSPEZIALIST AUF IBIZA AUFWENDIG UND VON HAND HER – AUF WUNSCH PASST ER ES SOGAR INDIVIDUELL AN DEIN HANDGELENK AN. DAS EINZIGARTIGE DESIGN UNTERSTREICHT DEN LOOK DER CRUDE ZU 100 PROZENT. WOBEI WIR NATÜRLICH NICHT NUR AUF OPTIK UND STRAPAZIERFÄHIGKEIT GEACHTET HABEN: DAS BAND TRÄGT SICH AUCH MAXIMAL KOMFORTABEL – SELBST AN SCHMALEN HANDGELENKEN ZIERLICHER FRAUEN. EIN BISSCHEN KANNST DU ES DIR WIE EINEN STABILEN ARMREIF VORSTELLEN. GESICHERT WIRD DAS GUTE STÜCK ÜBRIGENS AUF ANGEMESSEN ÄSTHETISCHE UND ZUVERLÄSSIGE WEISE: MIT EIGENS FÜR CRUDE ANGEFERTIGTEN BANDACHSEN AUS MASSIVEM SILBER .  

DIE SCHLIEßE

PASSEND GEGOSSEN. DIE STABILE DORNSCHLIEßE PASST IN JEDER HINSICHT ZUM BAND UND ZUM GEHÄUSE: EBENSO WIE DER BODY DER CRUDE WIRD DIE SCHLIEßE AUS SILBER GEGOSSEN.

 

DIE ZEIGER

FILIGRAN SKELETIERT

AUCH DIE ZEIGER STAMMEN AUS SCHWEIZER FERTIGUNG UND WERDEN EXKLUSIV FÜR CRUDE ANFERTIGT. UNSER LIEFERANT FÜR DAS SKELETTIERTE ZEIGERSPIEL IST DIE DIE FIRMA ESTIMA. 

 

DAS OWNER´S MANUAL

DIE GEBURTSURKUNDE

WEIL EIN SCHNÖDES BEGLEITPAPIER UNSERER VORSTELLUNG VON CRUDE NICHT GERECHT WIRD, SPENDIEREN WIR JEDER UHR EIN EIGENES BÜCHLEIN. EINE GEBURTSURKUNDE, DIE NICHT NUR DEN URSPRUNG DEINER CRUDE SAMT SERIENNUMMER UND VERANTWORTLICHEM UHRMACHER DOKUMENTIERT, SONDERN EUCH BEIDE EIN LEBEN LANG BEGLEITET. DU ERFÄHRST DARIN UNTER ANDEREM, WIE DU DEINE CRUDE OPTIMAL BEHANDELST UND IHR EINE INDIVIDUELLE PATINA VERPASST. UND DU DOKUMENTIERST DARIN JEDEN SERVICE, DEN DU DEINER UHR GÖNNST – FÜR EINE LÜCKENLOSE HISTORIE, LEBENSLANG.